Elizabeth Mashborne and the Four Shilling Tax


Edward Lloyd


The London Gazette, 1692

Westinster Jan 20. His Majesty came this day to the House of Peers, Attended with the usual Solemnity, and being in his Royal Robes Seated on the Throne, and the House of Commons being sent for up, His Majesty gave the Royal Assent to

An Act for Granting to Their Mejesties an Aid of Four Shillings in the Pound for one Year, for Carrying on a Vigorous War against France.1

Four Shilling in the Pound Tax Rolls

Edward Lloyd is found in the Four Shillings in the Pound tax rolls in the St. Dunstan’s District of London. Listed as Mr. Lloyd, he is presumably known well enough to be the only man on his street to be designated by only his last name.3

City of London, Farringdon Ward Without, St. Dunstan Precinct, Streetside

Name Property Rental Value Tax Stock Value Tax
Mr. Lloyd £44.00 £8.80 £50.00 £0.60


City of London, Farringdon Ward Without, Whitefriars Precinct

Name Property Rental Value Tax Stock Value Tax
Mashborne, Elizabeth £25.00 £5.00 £25.00 £0.30

Although many women are notated as being widows, others (including Elizabeth) who are listed as heads of households are not. Interestingly, a knighted gentlemen, Sir Henry Chancy, lived five doors down so the neighborhood appears to be respectable. 3

Whitefriars Precinct was named for the monastery that stood during the Middle Ages at the corner of Lombard Lane (not Lombard Street where Edward Lloyd later kept his coffee house). “The inhabitants of the precinct claimed in 1580 to be exempt from the jurisdiction of the City and to enjoy their liberties as the friars had done before them. They obtained further privileges from James I in 1608. These privileges were only finally abolished by Act of Parliament in 1697.”2 (Elizabeth married Edward Lloyd in 1698.)


1London Gazette. online

2 Harben, Henry. A Dictionary of London. Centre for Metropolitan History, 1918.

3 Barnes, Janet and et., Metropolitan London in the 1690s: Four Shillings In The Pound Aid 1693/4 for the City of London, the City of Westminster, and Metropolitan Middlesex. Centre for Metropolitan History, 1992.